2015 in 42 Books

I read 42 books in 2015 which I think is pretty good going and probably about as good as it is going to get for me in terms of volume! I read more than usual this year due to sleeplessness in pregnancy and sleep deprivation with a newborn. The beauty of the Kindle is that I can read it easily while lying down with/holding a baby. This certainly helps to make night time awakenings slightly more palatable. I look forward eagerly to the days (maybe in 30 years time??) when I can read as a single activity, during the day for as long as I feel I want. I vaguely remember those luxurious days on holiday, reading, pre-children!

The 42 books I read are as follows:

Red Love: The Story of an East German Family by Maxim Leo

Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn

Us by David Nicholls

The Bitch Goddess Notebook by Martha O’Connor

Dare Me by Megan Abbott

We Are Water by Wally Lamb

The Wicked Girls by Alex Marwood

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

The Farm by Tom Rob Smith

Summer Sisters by Judy Blume

Nearer than the Sky by T. Greenwood

Blood Orange by Drusilla Campbell

Wildwood by Drusialla Campbell

The Hungry Season by T. Greenwood

All The Light We Cannot See by Antony Doerr

Stillwater Rising by Steena Holmes

The No Kids Club by Talli Roland

A Dangerous Inheritance by Alison Weir

Before the Storm by Diane Chamberlain

Secrets She Left Behind by Diane Chamberlain

Breaking the Silence by Diane Chamberlain

Bodies of Water by T. Greenwood

The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain

The Fever by Megan Abbott

The End of Everything by Megan Abbott

The Lavender Keeper by Fiona McIntosh

Orange is the New Black by Piper Kerman

The Truth About the Harry Quebert Affair by Joel Dicker

The Ice Twins by S.K. Tremayne

600 Hours of Edward by Craig Lancaster

A Year In the Life of a Playground Mother by Christie Barlow

The Last Runaway by Tracy Chevalier

Oranges for Christmas by Margarita Morris

The Bay At Midnight by Diane Chamberlain

Daughter by Jane Shemilt

The Runaway Family by Diney Costeloe

Elephant Moon by John Sweeney

Yellow Crocus by Laila Ibrahim

Edward Adrift by Craig Lancaster

After the Crash by Michel Bussi

Leaving Berlin by Joseph Kanon

The Corrections by Jonathon Franzen

I don’t have a stand out favourite book of the year, but those that have stuck with me the most and I would therefore recommend most strongly are…in no particular order:

We Are Water by Wally Lamb – I love Wally Lamb books and this book is of a similar ilk to his others – an epic family saga seen through the eyes of different characters. Lots of interesting characters though the ending felt a bit empty.

Summer Sisters by Judy Blume – I ate up Judy Blume books as a teenager. This is one of her fiction stories aimed at adults. It was the only one I could get on the Kindle though others are available in paper. I intend to download her recent novel when it goes down in price a bit. (I am a big fan of the £1 books!) I really enjoyed this, partly because it is sent in Martha’s Vineyard and I loved hearing about the places I have visited. As always with Judy Blume books, I also felt a lot of empathy for the characters.

600 hours of Edward by Craig Lancaster – This is the first person story of a man in his thirties with Aspergers Syndrome. Edaward is so real and very endearing. I read the sequel to this novel also, but the first is definitely the best.

Us by David Nicholls – Fans of David Nicholls will love this book. I really enjoyed it. I thought it was funny and very readable. I didn’t like all of the characters, but did like the Dad, kind of!

The Farm by Tom Rob Smith – This felt a very quick read. It is very different to the thriller types that the author has written previously, but it felt fast paced nonetheless. I was rooting for a different ending.

I am hoping that some of you will have read some of the same books. Always love to discuss – when I can remember them that is! Also, I am always open to suggestions for things to read next. As you can probably see, I have fairly eclectic tastes.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

