All things Halloween

There is nothing like a bit of Halloween cheer to lift spirits. Halloween has never really featured much on my radar, but due to the huge increase in commercial attention it now receives, I have been paying it more attention. My American blogger friends are HUGE on Halloween and decorate their houses a couple of weeks in advance and really go all out with costumes and so on. We did not quite go to those lengths but we ended up having a fun day nevertheless.

Scott decided he wanted to be a Stormtrooper from Star Wars and he played a blinder. I realised too late that approving this costume meant approving a gun. He was delighted with his Nerf gun, me not so much.

SAM_0166 SAM_0167 SAM_0169

We did order a Darth Vader costume for Luke, but we were let down with the wrong size so had to send it back. Hopefully, by next year I will have located the Yoda costume that Scott wore that I put away for safe keeping somewhere! To keep the Star Wars theme, we had a reprise of R2-D2:

SAM_0196 SAM_0191

I also squashed Luke into Scott’s old skeleton costume. It was a bit on the tight side as Scott wore this when he was only 2 months old.

SAM_0144 SAM_0182

Billy pulled  out an Elvis costume he made in Australia 15 years ago:

halloween elvis Elvis and Luke

And I was a witch. I have no photographic evidence of this, however! Scott has gladly claimed my hat, broom and warty nose for his dressing up box.

I saw loads of fantastic recipe suggestions and I had to stick to one or two things to try as there really is a wealth of stuff to choose from. This Mummy cake featured on Tesco’s Halloween baking ideas:

SAM_0175

It is a three tier sponge cake sandwiched with cherry jam and coconut, covered with cream cheese frosting  and Halloween sprinkles. Marshmallows are used to bulk up the “face” before topping with strips of ready roll icing for bandages and Liquorice Allsorts for the eyes and mouth. I would recommend this as a fun and fairly straightforward bake.

I also made a Pumpkin Pie from the innards from the pumpkins that Billy carved:

SAM_0179

Questions about what pumpkin tastes like are not really resolved by tasting pumpkin pie. The pumpkin is mixed with so many other ingredients – condensed milk, brown sugar, cinnamon nutmeg, that the original taste of pumpkin is well masked. I was pleased with the taste, though and yes, Mary Berry I did just use shop bought ready roll for the pastry!

The last dessert item was monster strawberries. Strawberries dipped in white and milk chocolate and decorated with writing icing:

SAM_0184

The main meal items were “severed fingers” hot dogs:

SAM_0189

And  “chilli brains”. I used Halloween shaped cookie cutters for some spooky tortilla shapes:

SAM_0188

SAM_0187

We ate picnic style on a mat in the living room and the highlight for Scott was dunking for apples:

SAM_0215 SAM_0214 SAM_0213 SAM_0212 SAM_0211 SAM_0210 SAM_0209

Scott and Luke played:

SAM_0202

While the grown-ups cleaned up:

SAM_0207 SAM_0205

Billy and Scott ended the evening with a Halloween movie – The Addams Family. As far as a Halloween with kids goes, I reckon that we had as close to a perfect Halloween as you can get!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

