Fantasy Island

On Thursday, I was out. I thought I would be unable to participate in the Fantasy Island race round Millport. I had been ailing with a cold since Monday which peaked on Wednesday when I left work early and took to my bed. Thursday wasn’t much better and I took to my bed as soon as I came home from work. I made it out of bed on Friday and started to get better so by Friday afternoon I decided I would go ahead. Strictly I was breaking the runners’ “above the neck, below the neck rule – above the neck, what the heck, in the chest, let it rest” as I am still struggling in the chest, but the training has been done and I wanted to be there. Now, the thing about Fantasy Island is that it is a multiple lap race with runners doing between 1 and 5 laps of Cumbrae (just over 10 miles). I had signed up for 2 laps, but realised that probably wasn’t going to be possible so I agreed with Billy on Saturday morning that I would just do the 1 lap. That’s not to say that I didn’t have at the back of my mind that I could still maybe do 2 laps if I felt okay!

This picture on the way over doesn’t exactly look promising – a bit washed oot!

SAM_7504

The Michael’s Movers charity is fantastic with lots of wonderful volunteers working for them. I received a very nice welcome when I arrived at the registration point and was assured that if I didn’t feel right that there would be lots of support vehicles to pick me up and take me back if required. This is a real no pressure race, with no timing chips, but rather lots of friendly faces and encouragement the whole way round.

Lots of balloons everywhere!

SAM_7506

At the Start. The sunglasses were now on and the heat had picked up. I should have also worn my hat as it got warmer and my coupon ended up slightly burnt! SAM_7508

I took off at a slow steady pace and realised early on that I was running on empty. I also knew that I wasn’t going to be able to stomach any nutrition packs so that meant that anything beyond 10 miles would definitely be out. I met some friends at mile 5 who were bravely walk/jogging their 2nd lap. (There were 2 starting times of 8am and 11am. I started at 11am) I slowed to a walk to have a nice chat for a couple of minutes and was then spurred on to pick up my pace for the 2nd half of the race which I completed really quite fast at sub 8 minute miles. My finish time was 82 minutes which certainly isn’t a PB, but I was really pleasantly surprised and pleased that I had managed to clock such a quick time. Again, the reception at the Finish was fantastic and made me feel great.

Post-race selfie:

SAM_7509 SAM_7513

 

I quickly began to feel a bit ropey and dehydrated after finishing so I had 3 cartons of juice, an ice lolly and a packet of salty crisps which all really hit the spot.

On the boat back:SAM_7515Overall, I can thoroughly recommend Michael’s Movers Fantasy Island race. It is fun, friendly and for an excellent cause (Parkinsons Disease).

Meanwhile, Scott had been at a Frozen themed birthday party for his friend Rose and I joined him and Billy there:

SAM_7517 SAM_7521

Scott really loves Frozen, but he didn’t immerse himself as I think he had decided that it wasn’t becoming for a boy to like such things as singing along to “Let it go”. He did tell me later when he saw the photos: “That is the actual Queen Elsa of Arundale and I’m not kidding!” Whatever else, he seems to have been convinced!

My phone was broken so we had to take a trip up to Braehead to try and get it fixed. We ended up staying for dinner. Scott definitely looks cuter in medal pose!

SAM_7524

I wasn’t expecting such a sunny weekend for late September, so we made the most of it with a trip to the beach at Lunderston Bay on Sunday.

SAM_7526 SAM_7527 SAM_7531

 

This is definitely one of Scott’s favourite things to do – brambling:

SAM_7535 SAM_7533

 

So, not quite the race re-cap I’d expected, but I am at peace with my 10 mile effort and, maybe next year I can make the 20 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

