Ordinary Mums for YES

For most of the Scottish Independence debate I  avoided publicly engaging with people on the issue of Scotland’s constitutional future. I tend not to be the most outspoken of people and feel a bit uncomfortable talking politics at the risk of causing offence or finding myself judging a person as “good” or “bad” on the basis of their political convictions. However, this has become too important to stay silent.

I  am just an ordinary mum. That will always be the most important thing to me and the thing that ultimately drives any of my decisions. That is why, as an ordinary mum, I know that I have to vote Yes today. Don’t get me wrong, I understand the caution of the female voter and the mums in the Better Together camp. As a mum, worry is ever present. “How can I protect my child from this?” “I don’t want my child to do that in case they get hurt.” It is instinctual and habit and I think that is what is driving the “No” vote in women, in particular. I just want to urge No voters to take time to think about what it is they are really frightened about. The UK is at best OK, but to me “OK” is not good enough. It is not good enough for the boy I want to have the best future possible. For me, the risk is to stay in a union that is dismantling the NHS and welfare state bit by bit, that is continuing to support and bankroll nuclear weapons, that is becoming more and more unequal and is failing to protect our most vulnerable. Sadly, no matter how much we stamp our feet and moan about it, vote for parties that we think will uphold the NHS or speak out about welfare cuts, Scotland will not determine who makes up the Westminster government. We need to bring democracy to Scotland. We need to let the will of the people of Scotland determine who governs us. I could never forgive myself if I did not give my son this chance. A chance for something better. A chance for him to truly influence the running of the country he lives in. A chance for him to live in a fairer and better society.  You will note my use of the word “chance”. I use this word as I know that nothing will be set in stone in an independent Scotland. I cannot predict who our first “new government” will be.  We haven’t decided who would govern us and what polices they will bring. That is the point. It will be up to the Scottish people to decide, to influence to pick. There is a “chance” that it will not be in line with my own views, but there is a nigh near certain “chance” that whoever gets in at Westminster will not be in line with my views. However, the prospect of a Scottish constitution,  which guarantees fundamentals such as free education and no nuclear weapons, regardless of who forms the government,offers a vision and commitment which no Westminster government ever will. I am determined that the Scottish nation can be a model that other countries can aspire to. OK is not good enough for this ordinary mum.

Please mums, take a moment to think. Take a moment to imagine the best future for our children. As Nelson Mandela said, “May your choices reflect your hope, not your fear.” I hope you will join me in taking the first step to making a better Scotland and vote YES on September 18th.

YES sign

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ordinary Mums for YES

  1. Peter says:

    ‘We need to bring democracy to Scotland’….Scotland already has a government and a parliament and controls its NHS, welfare allocation and spending, provides free education etc. It already has first class universities, a flourishing arts scene and all the other benefits that are detailed in the White Paper. If creating a fairer society means heavily taxing the wealthy business owners, they will simply cross the border, and that would be England’s gain. The No campaign parties are now offering what is essentially Devo Max, which is what the majority of Scottish voters want. There is tremendous risk that the promises of a stronger economy that would deliver the money for additional public spending, would not be achieved in the negotiations after a ‘yes’ vote, and Scotland could find itself in a worse position than it is now. Is it worth the gamble?

    • dolster12 says:

      I can’t agree with your contention that leaving the Union is a gamble. For me, the gamble is the hurtling towards Nhs privatisation which ultimately the Scottish parlt would be powerless to stop. The Scottish parlt will not stop the UK committing to illegal wars and ultimately holds the purse strings. Like I said, Scottish people have little impact in terms of deciding who will govern the Uk. The Westminster govt will never rid Scotland of nuclear weapons. This will certainly be a powerful bargaining tool in terms of independence negotiations. Scotland’s natural resources have never been fully exploited in terms of economic wealth. The money wasted on maintaining trident would go a long way to providing additional spending. I tend to think Scotland would be attractive to businesses, but I would certainly hope that the tax evasion by big business that is currently tolerated would not be accepted by any Scottish government.

Leave a Reply

