Christmas bakes

I usually go for a fruit cake for Christmas, but I decided to go for some sticky iced ginger this year for a change. This requires loads of black treacle and golden syrup which = lots of sticky mess! I tend to make a traditional style cake for my mum and dad so stuck to the usual theme. I got some lovely sugar paste decorations in Asda so stuck them on top of the Royal Icing which I attempted to peak to look like snow.

SAM_4866

Last year I made a snowman cake so I thought a Christmas tree could be fun this year. I had a look on-line for inspiration and liked the idea of a stacked cake. This may yet prove to be an unwise choice given my previous slippage history! I made two gingerbread cakes and cut them into different sized bits before arranging them in a stacked fashion. Was clearly too in the zone for photos of this, so I can only offer the finished version! I then used food colouring to dye the fondant icing before dripping over the cake. It was tricky to get all bits covered due to constant dripping so I had to settle for “mostly covered”. Drying took a long time so while I was waiting I made some more icing in yellow, white and pink for the presents at the foot of the tree. The presents were cut from the off-cuts from the tree cake. I used Skittles for the decorations and piped some icing for tinsel. I also had another wee shot of my silver shimmer spray. Love that stuff! The piped icing was also needed for the “ribbon” for the presents.

SAM_4904

Sadly the star is not edible – just tinfoil!

This Christmas Eve I didn’t want to risk going out and getting stuck due to the weather so we had an “in the house”day. I suggested that we could make some biscuits for Santa and asked Scott what type of biscuits Santa would like. He said: “Santa ones.” So that’s what we made!

SAM_4925 SAM_4924 This is just iced shortbread. The more I look at these though, the more I think Pirate! The red gel didn’t seem as potent as previous bottles so it was hard to get beyond a pinky colour for the hat.

We just made star shapes with the rest of the shortbread mix. I had to resist the urge to bring out the silver shimmer spray again! 🙂

SAM_4921

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

