My 13.1 day

Well, I’d like to say that I made it round the Great Scottish Run Half Marathon in one piece, but I may be lying. I feel like I am in a million pieces after that exertion! I have to say that I have never felt so hellish after a run ever. The sad thing is, I felt fantastic up till 10 miles, then I hit the wall big time. I have heard of this proverbial “wall” before, but we had never met before today. I started seeing flashing in front of my eyes, entered a dazed state of pain and could hear people shouting as if in a faraway fog and only somehow made it home. No sprint finish. No exchange of pleasantries with MC of the day, Brian Burnett at the finishing line. Everything out there on the streets of Glasgow -somewhere. I have several possible explanations (excuses?) for my last quarter collapse. Lack of long run training – my longest was 10 miles, lack of food – was a bit hungry at the start, went too fast and burned myself out – my split times up to 15 km were pretty awesome even if I do say so myself (24 mins for each 5km). In the end, who knows? Maybe it was just one of those things. I have only just started to recover. By the time I got home, I was very ropey. Definitely not my finest hour having to pull in to be sick off the bottom of the Haylie Brae and then multiple bouts when I got home, followed by 3 hours in my bed. I hate to say this, but maybe I have to be a bit more aware of my limits….

My 13.1 Day:

1. I am a major panic merchant. Before the race started, Billy walked down to Glasgow Green to put my bag in the bag drop. As time ticked I began to panic that he would not find us in George Square. I ended up at the Help Desk getting the helpful lady to lend me her phone to phone Billy. (my phone was in my bag – duh.)

2. There needs to be way more toilets at a half marathon. Queues were massive.

3. I saw Billy and Scott with the banner at the start as I was waiting to go. I didn’t think I would be able to spot them in the crowd. Made my day.

4. My song of the day was Hear Me Roar by Katy Perry:  ‘Cause I am a champion and you’re gonna hear me roar … You’re gonna hear me roar I got the eye of the tiger’

5. I really do not like energy gels. They are horrid. I may even blame that for my sickness. I partially finished one that was handed out at 9 miles. Do they not do Lucozade pouches any more?

6. People should start in the right area for their speed. Why start in the fast runner area and be walking by 3 miles?

7. The people of Glasgow are fantastic. The cheers and encouragement mean so much. And the Flumps I was given went down so much better that the energy gel.

8. I am mega competitive. Why can I not just be happy to take part?

9. I love the sense of achievement that running gives me.

10. I love the fact that Billy and Scott are so proud of me.

11. I am annoyed that I could not sprint at the finish.

12.I might do one again – maybe.

13. I did it all by own (as Scott would say.)

13.1. Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz!

 

The Before:

SAM_4244 SAM_4242

 

Subway to the start:

SAM_4245

 

The after:

SAM_4246 SAM_4247

 

Scott’s dash – he didn’t get that he had to go!:

SAM_4248

But made a good recovery!SAM_4249

 

Until the next time…… 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

