My Giant Chelsea Bun

This week was a bit of a “meh” week for me on the Great British Bake Off. There wasn’t anything that I was particularly inspired to try and I was sad to see nice old Howard bow out of the competition. He has been central to some good funny moments on this series and seems a lovely chap. As you may have gathered, I am more of a cake than a bread type of gal, so things didn’t look entirely promising. Mind you, sweet bread is a wee bit different.

My choices were limited this week as I don’t have a mixer with a dough hook. Given my recent GBBO expenses, I really cannot justify any further purchases! This dough hook  seemed to be required in all but one of the recipes – Apricot Couronne – Paul’s technical bake. And guess what….the only ingredient I needed to buy this week was……… an orange! Result!

I was quite concerned when I started this bake as my dough did not seem to be doubling in size during the proving process. I left my dough to prove for well over an hour, but couldn’t detect much change. I have to admit, I find the waiting in bread making quite frustrating. Eventually, I decided to just go with what I had and rolled out the dough (with ruler measurements) into a rectangle shape. It is then covered with the apricot, walnut, raisin, orange zest and brown sugar mix and rolled like a Swiss Roll.

SAM_4126

 

I felt like I had no clue what I was doing with the cutting and twisting into crown shape bit. I did try frantically Googling a video demonstration, but no luck. I just had to hope for the best. Billy then had to help me with a Casualty Manoeuvre – The two person lifting of the patient to the baking tin. More proving was required. This time for 45 minutes in a plastic bag.

When I placed the tin in the oven I expected a long wait given that my last bread creation took more than double the stated cooking time. However, it began to smell ready sooner than I had anticipated and I had to do a dash away mid story to Scott and run down the stairs to rescue my crowning glory.

The glazing with apricot jam creates a lovely shine. After that, all that is left is the icing and almond covering. Pretty pleased with this, even if I do say so myself!

SAM_4130 SAM_4129

 

Maybe not entirely crown like, but attractive nonetheless. Maybe I just need to see this bread making lark as giant Chelsea bun making. 🙂

SAM_4135 SAM_4131

 

Bake to pastry next week – I may knead a holiday!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

