I hope you had the time of your life

Another turning point, a fork stuck in the road
Time grabs you by the wrist, directs you where to go
So make the best of this test, and don’t ask why
It’s not a question, but a lesson learned in time

It’s something unpredictable, but in the end it’s right.
I hope you had the time of your life.

So take the photographs, and still frames in your mind
Hang it on a shelf in good health and good time
Tattoos of memories and dead skin on trial
For what it’s worth it was worth all the while

It’s something unpredictable, but in the end it’s right. 
I hope you had the time of your life. 

It’s something unpredictable, but in the end it’s right. 
I hope you had the time of your life. 

It’s something unpredictable, but in the end it’s right. 
I hope you had the time of your life.  (Green Day)

Our last day of the holidays was spent between Strathaven and the Magnum. Strathaven is another day trip I remember from childhood and Scott was hooked by the idea of the miniature railway. Unfortunately the schools have already started back in South Lanarkshire so the train wasn’t running and the boating pond closed. Nevertheless he made the best of things in the park and was swinging and climbing round like a monkey.

SAM_3619 SAM_3622 SAM_3623 I nearly had a heart attack here – he dropped himself off the top blue bar!

This tyre climb combination was a new experience:

SAM_3624 SAM_3625

The climbing frame was very old school, but we spent  half an hour at this alone:

SAM_3644 SAM_3643 SAM_3645If you can’t beat ’em join ’em! Up the top with S.

It ended up to be a day of some unconventional eating spots. Scott insisted on eating his sandwiches in this “seat”:

SAM_3629

This was Scott’s ice lolly choice. I think he was maybe a little overwhelmed at first!SAM_3631

There are definitely places with a worse view to eat an ice lolly:

SAM_3635

it took him quite a while to eat it, so he got bored with the same seat.SAM_3636

I don’t know if my memory is deceiving me, as playground equipment is unlikely to have survived 25 years, but this roundabout seems familiar. Scott loved running on it trying to get it to go.

SAM_3647 SAM_3646

Anyone know any good training for swing pushing? My arms are getting really sore with Scott’s marathon sessions these days!

SAM_3650           SAM_3649

We finished off with a roll down the hill.

SAM_3639

On the way home we stopped at the Magnum for some swimming. Scott absolutely loved it. We were in the water for over two hours and I eventually had to drag him out to get home for tea, bath and bed! He was very timid at first but graduated from going down the big slide holding my hand, to just sitting beside me, to insisting that I stayed at the bottom while he did it “All by my own.”

I have had the time of my life. I hope Scott has too.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

