3 reasons why I love you

Dear Scott,

Tomorrow is your 3rd birthday. I can hardly believe it! I still remember the utter terror and panic I felt about being responsible for such a demanding little bundle. The months of sleep deprivation made me forget at times that you are the most precious gift I have ever received. That’s the thing now Scott, you are not “mine” any more, you are becoming your own person. There are times when you drive me crazy and run me absolutely ragged but I will always love you to the moon and back. In fact, the words came to me today when I was out running and listening to “I’ll Stand By You” – Nothing you could do, could make me love you less. I will stand by you forever and even when you make mistakes, I will help you.

ImageImage

1) I love you because you are like your Dad – you are impulsive, incessant and completely infectious. You are very different from me and I hope dearly that you can stay so positive, sociable and outgoing.

2) I love you because you are brave and will try everything – Again, quite different from me!

Image

Image

3) I love you because you bring so much colour and joy to everyone you meet. You make me want to be a better person, to make this world a better place for you to live. You give me hope.

Your Dad and I have so many hopes and dreams for you, Scott. I have to admit that we fantasise about you becoming a professional footballer! We also love the idea that you would go to Harvard so we could come and visit you in our beloved Boston. The truth is though, my biggest hope is that you will be happy. If you have achieve this, I will feel like I have achieved my biggest goal ever.

“I don’t want my children to follow in my footsteps…I want them to take the path next to me and go farther than I ever dreamt possible.”

Happy 3rd birthday, Scooter. x

 

I’ll Stand By You (I’ll stand by you video The Pretenders)

Oh, why you look so sad?
Tears are in your eyes
Come on and come to me now
Don’t be ashamed to cry
Let me see you through
’cause I’ve seen the dark side too
When the night falls on you
You don’t know what to do
Nothing you confess
Could make me love you less

I’ll stand by you
I’ll stand by you
Won’t let nobody hurt you
I’ll stand by you

So if you’re mad, get mad
Don’t hold it all inside
Come on and talk to me now
Hey, what you got to hide?
I get angry too
Well I’m a lot like you
When you’re standing at the crossroads
And don’t know which path to choose
Let me come along
’cause even if you’re wrong

I’ll stand by you
I’ll stand by you
Won’t let nobody hurt you
I’ll stand by you
Take me in, into your darkest hour
And I’ll never desert you
I’ll stand by you

And when…
When the night falls on you, baby
You’re feeling all alone
You won’t be on your own

I’ll stand by you
I’ll stand by you
Won’t let nobody hurt you

I’ll stand by you
Take me in, into your darkest hour
And I’ll never desert you
I’ll stand by you
I’ll stand by you
Won’t let nobody hurt you
I’ll stand by you
Won’t let nobody hurt you
I’ll stand by you

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

