You can’t pat a jelly fish like a cat

Today was Billy’s day off so we took a trip to Arrochar. We think that Scott is probably no longer infectious as his chicken pox appears to have scabbed over, (apologies if you’re at your tea!) but I am still a bit apprehensive about the dirty looks other mothers will give me when I first take Scott into contact with other children. I love the scenery in this part of the world and we knew we would find a lonely beach to muck about on. All summer I have been telling Scott not to touch jellyfish as I have a fear of him being stung. Billy assures me that their sting is no worse than a nettle sting and can only happen if you touch the under side. On the banks of the loch there were tons of jellyfish today so as ever, Scott was desperate to touch. Billy being a bit less cautious about the stinging issue told Scott he could touch. Trouble is, Scott hasn’t exactly developed a gentle touch so there was a bit of jellyfish manhandling (toddlerhandling?) going on.

SAM_2514

 

We had to do a lot of explaining about a jellyfish being an animal and not hurting them. Scott took this life lesson to heart and started patting the jellyfish like cats!

SAM_2515

We also did a bit of fishing:

SAM_2509

SAM_2510

SAM_2511

SAM_2512

Look at the tiny crab (see Scott’s finger) he caught!

SAM_2513Always one to look for a challenge!

On the way home we had two toilet stops. We are so looking forward to our 5 hour car journey! We also had a sing off. Scott’s favourite was “Do you know the muffin man?” I had to stifle laughter as he sang over and over “Everybody know the muffin man, the muffin man, the muffin man. Everybody know the muffin man that lives on Drury Lane.” Every time we thought he had finished and attempted some applause he would say “I’m not finished yet” and begin another round. He noticed our amusement as he asked, “Why are you happy mummy and daddy?” It is also very funny trying to figure out some of the songs he is singing that he has picked up from nursery. “Water is a secret, water never lies.” Anyone???? Today he was also singing about his seasons, but I think he may have got a little mixed up as he was singing that in winter “you don’t need a woolly coat.”

The past few days have reminded me of a quote I saw once:

“While we try to teach our children all about life, Our children teach us what life is all about.”

I am always anxious to teach Scott how to behave properly and to treat others well, but I don’t want to forget that the fun we have and seeing him grow is really what it’s all about. His innocence and the love I have for my boy will hopefully remind me of this every day.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment