The Darkest Hour is Just Before Dawn

Saturday morning started painfully early again with Scott running through at ten to six demanding his breakfast. He would not be placated with my offers of a wee sleep in mummy’s bed so I had to pull my weary self out of bed. I didn’t know whether to laugh or cry when I switched on the TV and it said “Welcome to STV night-time.” To be fair, he did appear to be hungry and dully ate 2 bowls of Rice Crispies and then he had an apple and then a porridge pot.

Image

This exceptionally early rise meant we had plenty of time to kill in the morning, so what do we do? We played cars and made a chocolate cake! I do confuse the poor boy sometimes, though, as I told him we were making the chocolate cake for Daddy. I then had to spend most of the rest of the morning explaining that it wasn’t Daddy’s birthday!

Scott came up with this car combination all by himself and was very chuffed.

ImageImage

At least something could be achieved by my dawn call. This is Nigella’s Devil’s Food Cake. (Thank you to my friend Joanne for getting me this book for my birthday)

Image

Image

Scott had a great time at his friend Dylan’s birthday party. I took this photo before we left as I knew he wouldn’t keep clean for long:Image

He loved playing on all the outdoor toys and very much enjoyed watching others playing the party games. He didn’t quite last the distance at most of the party games and was soon off to find something else to do. At one point, he headed off out of the room and when I found him he was coming out the bathroom saying “I just had a pee, mummy. You didn’t need to come with me.” It doesn’t take much to make me proud these days so needless to say, that one had me glowing inside! I enjoyed a wee catch up with my friend Julie (a fellow Largs Autumn 2010 mummy!) who was there with her little boy, Andrew. I am very grateful to our fantastic hosts Jo and Mark for inviting Scott to their lovely house for the party.

Yes, there were grass stains…

ImageImageImage

A party picnicImage

Guess what he found?ImageImagePass the parcel al fresco style

While Scott was having his afternoon nap I had a great run in almost the perfect conditions. I did some good punchy interval sessions and felt good. By tea time though, I felt like I had been hit by a ton of bricks and was in bed exhausted by 9.45.  I had hoped to feel refreshed when I got up, (This wasn’t till the magnificent time of 7.30 as Billy had successfully coaxed Scott back to bed at 5.20) but I have felt rather jaded all day and had a very sluggish run. Today’s weather has been poor so activities have been limited. We just made it to Glasgow for some shopping and I got some new trainers. Hopefully they will give me a new lease of life as I am still feeling quite below par. Another full week ahead of 6am (at latest!) starts and long days so a pick-me-up is required. Or being able to hide under the duvet all week would be good.  Samuel Fuller wrote in 1858 that “There is a beautiful saying amongst the Irish peasantry to inspire hope under adverse circumstances:- “Remember,” they say, “that the darkest hour of all is the hour before day.”  I will go to bed clutching that in the hope that this week will be easier.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Darkest Hour is Just Before Dawn

  1. Lucas woke up really early for a couple of weeks after he had the sickness bug, usually very hungry so probably needed to gain the weight he lost when he was sick. Thankfully he’s started sleeping s bit longer again now, hope Scott will as well soon! x

Leave a Reply

